Section on Balance in Legal Education

Date Chartered: 5/22/2007

Purpose:
The Section on Balance in Legal Education seeks to investigate, discover, and inspire those practices that support the well-being of law students, lawyers, and judges. The Section encourages research into the conditions that allow students and practitioners to thrive, both personally and professionally, and informs the membership of the Association of American Law Schools about the results of that research. Among other things, Section activities explore the importance of health, compassion, integrity, and ethics to the effective study and practice of law. The Section promotes continual re-examination of pedagogical practices, program content, and institutional priorities to promote the long-term best interests of law students and the constituencies they will serve.

 

 

Jennifer Brobst AALS Balance in Legal Education

Welcome to the Balance in Legal Education Section!

 

We are happy to announce that 2017 marks the 10 year anniversary of our section, although we gratefully recognize the years of effort in improving the wellbeing of law students and attorneys for decades prior to the section's formation. We are also pleased to announce a continuous and substantial growth in our membership in recent years. As of December 2016, the Balance Section was 196 members strong, with a large and active Executive Board of 19 members.

 

After a vibrant first 10 years, the Balance in Legal Education Section is now a fixture in the AALS offering of professional services and networking. It remains a resilient section in part because of its flexible meaning, but also because of its consistent core value of working to ensure that legal professionals do not lose sight of what is important. As our Chair-Elect, Calvin Pang of University of Hawai'i, has written recently: "[The] inevitable stressors of law practice, including its moral ambiguities . . . alternatively inspire and daunt, but together they provide opportunities for students to return to their strengths, affirm their core personal values, and sort through the din of law work to find the true and the meaningful."

 

As this year's Chair of the Section, I'm excited to see what we can do in 2017, building on such a good foundation after 10 years of hard work as a section. I hope you will join me in planning for the AALS annual meeting in San Diego in 2018, by forwarding your ideas and suggestions to one of our board members or by participating in one of our committees.

 

In the meantime, please take full advantage of our other programming and services, including our Scholarship Bibliography on our independent website (see www.balanceinlegaleducation.org), our Mindfulness Affinity Group, and our national Topic Call series with cutting edge guest speakers.

 

Best wishes,

 

Jenny Brobst

 

Officers

Full list of section officers (2017)

Full list of section officers (2016)

Newsletters

Download All Newsletters

December 2016

December 2014

December 2012

June 2011

December 2010

December 2009

November 2008


Click Here to Log-In to the Section Member-Only Pages: https://connect.aals.org/balance

Section Officers:

ChairJennifer A. Brobst, Southern Illinois University School of Law
Phone: 618-453-8702
E-mail: jbrobst@siu.edu

Chair-ElectCalvin Pang, University of Hawaii, William S. Richardson School of Law
Phone: (808) 956-7474
E-mail: calvinp@hawaii.edu

SecretaryHeidi K. Brown, Brooklyn Law School
Phone: (718) 532-2234
E-mail: heidi.brown@brooklaw.edu

Treasurer
Executive CommitteeDebra Austin, University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Phone: (303) 871-6205
E-mail: daustin@law.du.edu

Meredith J. Duncan, University of Houston Law Center
Phone: (713) 743-2019
E-mail: mjduncan@uh.edu

J. Lyn Entrikin, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law
Phone: (501) 324-9947
E-mail: jlentrikin@ualr.edu

Anahid Gharakhanian, Southwestern Law School
Phone: (213) 738-6786
E-mail: agharakhanian@swlaw.edu

Katherine M. Hessler, Lewis and Clark Law School
Phone: 503-768-6955
E-mail: khessler@lclark.edu

Peter H. Huang, University of Colorado Law School
Phone: (303) 492-4536
E-mail: peter.huang@colorado.edu

D'lorah L. Hughes, University of California, Irvine School of Law
Phone: (949) 824-9809
E-mail: dhughes@law.uci.edu

Katerina P. Lewinbuk, South Texas College of Law Houston
Phone: (713) 646-2940
E-mail: klewinbuk@hcl.edu

Todd D. Peterson, The George Washington University Law School
Phone: (202) 994-1004
E-mail: tpeter@law.gwu.edu

Jarrod F. Reich, Georgetown University Law Center
Phone: 202-662-9875
E-mail: jarrod.reich@law.georgetown.edu

Richard C. Reuben, University of Missouri School of Law
Phone: (573) 884-5204
E-mail: reubenr@missouri.edu

Scott Rogers, University of Miami School of Law
Phone: (305) 284-5527
E-mail: srogers@law.miami.edu

Carrie Sperling, University of Wisconsin Law School
Phone: (608) 262-3646
E-mail: csperling@wisc.edu

Ron Tyler, Stanford Law School
Phone: (650) 723-2465
E-mail: rtyler@law.stanford.edu

My Profile
Sections
My Committees
Directory of Law Teachers
Events & Conferences
My Events
Order History
Faculty Appointments Register
Podcasts