Sessions Information

  • January 3, 2018
    1:30 pm - 3:15 pm
    Session Type: Section Programs
    Session Capacity: N/A
    Hotel: N/A
    Room: Pacific Ballroom Salon 17
    Floor: North Tower/Ground Level

    In 1868, the United States negotiated eight treaties with tribal nations, including the Arapaho, Blackfoot, Cheyenne, Cherokee, Crow, Navajo, Shoshone, Sioux, and Ute. These were the last treaties to be ratified before the end of treaty making in 1871. On the 150-year anniversary of these treaties, this panel will examine not only their historical underpinnings, but also the real rights that continue to flow from these treaties and that are the subject of discussion, negotiation, and litigation today.

    Business meeting at program conclusion.

Session Speakers
Organization: University of New Mexico School of Law

Organization: Alexander Blewett III School of Law at the University of Montana

Organization: Mitchell Hamline School of Law

Organization: Brigham Young University, J. Reuben Clark Law School

Session Fees
  • [3100] Indian Nations and Indigenous Peoples - 150 Years Later: The 1868 Treaties and Modern Sovereignty: $0.00